Microalgaes

Microalgaes

A domestic Spirulina grower where water becomes a biotope in the heart of the house.

It was with my team of Pierre Lalut (water and environment engineer), Pierre Nettleship (water and environment engineer) and Jade Herbert (designer), that I realized the first prototype of the domestic spirulina grower.

Spirulina is an edible unicellular algae, a food still relatively unknown in Europe. However, it is endowed with exceptional nutritional virtues including iron and protein. This project proposes to cultivate slowly and at a very low dose an alternative to meat at home.
The domestic spirulina cultivator is a laboratory kit.
It is an object of awareness. It is a slow cultivation that requires great attention. It's a discovery, an introduction for the curious, for people who are open to alternative food and who want to know how to grow an edible microalgae.
It is an elementary system, which allows to give a physicality, a gesture, to show, to feel, to weigh. The domestic spirulina grower gives to see: it makes visible the steps of culture, it arouses an interest, a respect. Born then an underlying responsibility and by this transparency the cultivator gives to understand how the water becomes biotope.

Winter to summer 2018 - object of interaction, growth and curiosity
The set fits in a box of 700x500x500mm.
Spirulina, nutrients, blown glass, metal, ceramic, beech.


Chantepleure

Chantepleure

Carreaux d'eau

Modèle aquatique

Inde

Surface

Submersion

Flaque

Nature Facture

Dérive

Fontaine

Essaimer

Hématome

Surtout

Ancrée

Immersion

J'eau

Débordement

Empoignée

Archéologie

À bord perdu

Guéridon haut

Guéridon haut

Microalgues

Microalgues

Un cultivateur domestique de spiruline où l’eau devient biotope au coeur de la maison.

C’est avec mon équipe constituée de Pierre Lalut (ingénieur eau et environnement), Pierre Nettleship (ingénieur eau et environnement) et Jade Herbert (designer), que j’ai réalisé le premier prototype du cultivateur domestique de spiruline.

La spiruline est une algue unicellulaire comestible, un aliment encore relativement méconnu en Europe. Elle est pourtant dotée de vertus nutritionnelles assez exceptionnelles notamment en fer et en protéine. Ce projet propose alors de cultiver lentement et à très petite dose une alternative à la viande chez soi. Le cultivateur domestique de spiruline est sous forme de kit laborantin.
Il est un objet de sensibilisation. C’est une culture lente, qui nécessite une grande attention. C’est une découverte, une initiation destinée aux curieux, aux personnes ouvertes à l’alimentation alternative et qui veulent savoir comment cultiver une algue comestible.
C’est un système élémentaire, qui permet de donner une physicalité, une gestuelle, montrer, sentir, peser. Le cultivateur domestique de spiruline donne à voir : il rend visible les étapes de culture, il suscite un intérêt, un respect. Née alors une responsabilité sous-jacente et par cette transparence le cultivateur donne à comprendre comment l’eau devient biotope.

Hiver - Été 2018 - Objet d’interactions, de croissance et de curiosité
L’ensemble tient dans une boîte de 700x500x500mm.
Spiruline, nutriments, verre soufflé, métal, céramique, hêtre.


Chantepleure

Chantepleure

Carreaux d'eau

Modèle aquatique

Inde

Surface

Submersion

Flaque

Nature Facture

Dérive

Fontaine

Essaimer

Hématome

Surtout

Ancrée

Immersion

J'eau

Débordement

Empoignée

Archéologie

À bord perdu

Guéridon haut

Guéridon haut